Multiple Sklerose & Wintersport

Multiple Sklerose: Skifahren ist möglich!

Wenn wir uns den Winterferien nähern, träumen wir alle davon, in die Berge zu fahren, um unsere Gedanken zu leeren, die frische Luft zu atmen, während wir den Schnee betrachten, und die Skipisten unter der reflektierenden Sonne hinunterzusteigen. Klingt das alles wie ein Traum - ein unerreichbarer Traum bei Multipler Sklerose (MS)?

Nun, hier sind die guten Nachrichten: Im Prinzip gibt es nichts, was Skifahren bei MS verhindert. Downhill oder Langlauf: Beide Disziplinen bieten ein exzellentes Herz-Kreislauf-Training, ganz zu schweigen von der Tatsache, dass eine entspannte Atmosphäre und Momente des Teilens mit Familie und Freunden sich positiv auf unser Wohlbefinden auswirken. Sie sind bei guter Gesundheit oder haben Multiple Sklerose.

Wenn Wintersport nicht mit MS unvereinbar ist, müssen Sie Ihre Disziplin wählen. Woher weißt du, welcher Wintersport für dich am besten ist? Es hängt hauptsächlich von Ihrer physischen Form - und psychologisch ab. Egal, ob Sie Skifahren oder Langlaufen bevorzugen, es gilt die gleiche Regel: Wählen Sie nur Strecken, die nicht zu viel erfordern und deren Schwierigkeit Ihre Stärke nicht übersteigt. Und vergessen Sie vor allem nicht, auf Ihren Körper zu hören: Achten Sie auf die Signale, die er sendet, und machen Sie regelmäßige Pausen, ohne zu warten, bis er erschöpft ist.

Wenn Ihre MS Sie anfälliger für Hitze macht (Uhthoff-Phänomen), können körperliche Aktivität - und die dadurch erzeugte Hitze - beim Skifahren ein Problem darstellen. Angesichts der niedrigen Temperaturen in den Bergen ist das Uhthoff-Phänomen jedoch in der Regel weniger schwer und in den Winterferien leichter zu kontrollieren.

Ski Alpin

Wenn Sie bergab fahren wollen, müssen Sie Ihrem Körper und besonders Ihren Beinen vertrauen. Beim Skifahren ist der Körper viel mehr beteiligt als beim Skilanglauf. Im Idealfall sollten Sie also regelmäßig Sport treiben und sich körperlich vorbereiten, bevor Sie in den Skiurlaub gehen: Ihr Körper muss ausreichend trainiert sein, um den Anforderungen / körperlichen Anforderungen gerecht zu werden, die eine Skiabfahrt erfordert. Im Prinzip ist diese Vorsorge für alle, nicht nur für Patienten mit MS, unerlässlich. Aber es ist klar, dass Menschen mit einer Krankheit oder Behinderung sich noch sorgfältiger vorbereiten müssen.

Was tun bei einer Behinderung?

Eine Person, die durch multiple Sklerose physisch eingeschränkt ist, könnte denken, dass Wintersport wie Skifahren für sie keine Option ist. Aber warum nicht? Mit der richtigen Ausrüstung können Sie alpin Ski fahren, auch wenn Sie unter einem kleinen - oder sogar einem großen - Handicap leiden.

Hier sind verschiedene Skivarianten und deren Ausstattung:

1) Ski mit Stabilisator

Sie werden in Fällen von guter körperlicher Verfassung empfohlen, die mit Problemen des Gleichgewichts verbunden sind: die Stabilisatoren, eine Art von englischen Stöcken, die mit Kufen für Stützen versehen sind, rutschen auf dem Schnee, helfen, das Gleichgewicht zu finden.

2) Skibob (auch: Snowbike oder Veloski)

Dieses Gerät sieht aus wie ein ziemlich niedriges Fahrrad, dessen Räder durch Skier ersetzt wurden. Mit Skibob können Sie die Startbahn hinunterfahren. Kleine Skier sind auch an den Füßen befestigt. Mit einem Lenker können Sie den Véloski steuern, um beim Abstieg den Kurs beizubehalten.

3) Bi-Ski (auch: Dualski, Sitting Ski)

Wenn Sie im Rollstuhl sitzen, können Sie mit dem Bi-Ski die Strecke zu zweit zurücklegen! Der Bi-Ski besteht aus einer Art Schlitten, der auf zwei Skiern befestigt ist und auf dem Sie mit gebeugten Beinen sitzen. Ihr Partner steht hinter dem Bi-Ski auf klassischen Alpinskiern. Er ist es, der den Bi-Ski durch eine Lenkstange manövriert und die Abfahrt zu zwei führt. Indem Sie Ihr Gewicht von einer Seite auf die andere übertragen, können Sie Richtungsänderungen begleiten.

Langlauf

Obwohl Skilanglauf weniger anspruchsvoll ist als Skifahren, erfordert es körperliche Anstrengung. Für Patienten mit MS sind gute Vorbereitung und körperliche Fitness wichtig für einen Langlaufurlaub.

Langlauf ist eine gute Option für Menschen mit regelmäßigen Muskelschwäche in den Beinen. Weil diese Schwächen leicht durch einen verstärkten Einsatz von Waffen und Büsten ausgeglichen werden können. Darüber hinaus beeinflusst Skilanglauf Gelenke weniger als alpines Skifahren. Die Wahl der Route muss ebenfalls vorausgesehen werden, mit einer Länge und einem Niveau, das an seine Kapazitäten angepasst ist. Und im Zweifelsfall ist es besser, das günstigste zu wählen, auch wenn Sie die Herausforderung am nächsten Tag noch angehen möchten. Die ganze Sache ist, Kurse zu finden, die Spaß machen, das heißt, dass sie sowohl Leichtigkeit als auch Herausforderung miteinander verbinden.

Möchten Sie reagieren, Ihre Erfahrungen teilen oder eine Frage stellen? Termin in unseren FOREN Neurologie, Sport, Handicap oder Ein Arzt antwortet Ihnen !

Um auch zu lesen:

Alles über Multiple Sklerose
Führt Multiple Sklerose zu Harninkontinenz?
Ski: 8 Übungen zur Vorbereitung auf die Strecke!

Beliebte Beiträge

Kategorie Multiple Sklerose & Wintersport, Nächster Artikel

Scl Pink Winter Sports Plates

Multiple sclerosis: skiing is possible!

As we approach the winter holidays, we all dream of going to the mountains to empty our minds, breathe the fresh air while contemplating the snow, and descend the ski slopes under the reflecting sun. Does all this sound like a dream - an unachievable dream when you have multiple sclerosis (MS)?

Well, here's the good news: In principle, there is nothing to prevent skiing when you have MS. Downhill or cross-country skiing: Both disciplines provide excellent cardiovascular training, not to mention the fact that a relaxed atmosphere and moments of sharing with family and friends have a positive impact on our well-being for all, you are in good health or have multiple sclerosis.

If winter sports are not incompatible with MS, you must choose your discipline. How do you know which winter sport is best for you? It depends mainly on your physical form - and psychological. Whether you prefer downhill skiing or cross-country skiing, the same rule applies: choose only tracks that do not require too much and whose difficulty does not exceed your strength. And most importantly, do not forget to listen to your body: pay attention to the signals it sends you and take regular breaks, without waiting to be exhausted.

If your MS causes you to be more sensitive to heat (Uhthoff's phenomenon), physical activity - and the heat it generates - can be a problem when you ski. That said, given the low temperatures in the mountains, the Uhthoff phenomenon is generally less heavy and easier to control during winter holidays.

Downhill skiing

If you want to ski downhill, you have to trust your body and especially your legs. In downhill skiing, the body is much more involved than in cross-country skiing. So ideally, you should practice a sport regularly and prepare yourself physically before going on a ski vacation: your body must be sufficiently trained to be able to face the demands / physical demands that a ski descent demands. In principle, this precaution is essential for everyone, not only for patients with MS. But it is clear that people with an illness or disability need to prepare even more carefully.

What to do in case of disability?

A person physically limited by multiple sclerosis might think that winter sports like skiing are not an option for them. But in fact, why not? With the right equipment, you can practice alpine skiing even if you suffer from a small - or even a large - handicap.

Here are different ski variants and their equipment:

1) Ski with stabilizer

They are recommended in cases of good physical shape associated with problems of balance: the stabilizers, a kind of English canes provided with skids for supports slipped on the snow, help to find the balance.

2) Skibob (also: Snowbike or Veloski)

This device looks like a pretty low bike whose wheels have been replaced by skis. With skibob, you can go down the runway. Small skis are also attached to your feet. A handlebar allows you to steer the Véloski to stay the course when going downhill.

3) Bi-Ski (also: Dualski, Sitting Ski)

If you are in a wheelchair, the bi-ski allows you to go down the track for two! The Bi-Ski consists of a kind of sled, fixed on two skis and on which you sit with your legs bent. Your partner is standing behind the Bi-Ski, on classic alpine skis. It is he who maneuver the Bi-Ski through a handlebar and can lead your downhill run to two. By transferring your weight from one side to the other, you can accompany changes of direction.

Cross-country skiing

Although cross-country skiing is less demanding than downhill skiing, it requires physical effort. For patients with MS, good preparation and physical fitness are important for a cross-country skiing holiday.

Cross-country skiing is a good option for people with regular muscle weakness in their legs. Because these weaknesses can easily be offset by a greater use of arms and bust. In addition, cross-country skiing affects joints less than alpine skiing. The choice of the route must also be anticipated, with a length and a level adapted to its capacities. And in case of doubt, it is better to choose the most affordable, even if you want to mount the challenge the next day. The whole thing is to find courses that are fun, that is to say that mix both ease and challenge.

Want to react, share your experience or ask a question? Appointment in our FORUMS Neurology, Sport, Handicap or A doctor answers you !

Read also :

All about multiple sclerosis
Does multiple sclerosis cause urinary incontinence?
Ski: 8 exercises to prepare for the track!

Popular Posts

Category Scl Pink Winter Sports Plates, Next Article

Multiple sclerosis: skiing is possible! - Scl Pink Winter Sports Plates
Scl Pink Winter Sports Plates

Multiple sclerosis: skiing is possible!

As we approach the winter holidays, we all dream of going to the mountains to empty our minds, breathe the fresh air while contemplating the snow, and descend the ski slopes under the reflecting sun. Does all this sound like a dream - an unachievable dream when you have multiple sclerosis (MS)? Well, here's the good news: In principle, there is nothing to prevent skiing when you have MS
Read More
Multiple sclerosis & winter sports: our advice - Scl Pink Winter Sports Plates
Scl Pink Winter Sports Plates

Multiple sclerosis & winter sports: our advice

Whether you prefer cross-country skiing or downhill skiing, here are some tips for practicing winter sports in good conditions! 1) Get ready! Good preparation Preparation is essential. Also, endurance training allows you to improve your fitness. Cycling or Nordic walking are particularly suitable. Important: Do not force and do not try to go beyond your abilities but gradually increase your performance
Read More