Narcolepsy: the causes

The causes of narcolepsy are still poorly understood.

Narcolepsy is due to the destruction of some very specific neurons located at the base of the brain. The neurons that make the neurotransmitter called hypocretin are partially or totally destroyed. The disease affects only these neurons, it does not affect other parts of the body. Hypocretin plays a very important role in maintaining wakefulness and structuring sleep.

The cause of the destruction of these neurons is not yet known. It is likely that this is an autoimmune mechanism, that is to say, an inappropriate reaction of the subject's immune system that will mistakenly attack elements of his own body.

Indeed, the mutation of a gene involved in the immune system has been found in people suffering from narcolepsy. Moreover, a scientific study assumes that the decline of hypocretin-producing neurons would be caused by the increase of hormone producing hormone cells (key molecule of the immune system).

To make a diagnosis of narcolepsy, hypocretin can be found in the cerebrospinal fluid (the fluid that surrounds the central nervous system). The doctor may perform a lumbar puncture to test this substance. The specialist physician for this type of disorder is a neurologist, and more specifically a sleep specialist.

Do you suffer from sleep disorders?

Do you feel bad sleep and start worrying? Answer a few questions to get to the bottom of it. Take the test!

Want to react, share your experience or ask a question? Appointment in our FORUMS Fatigue and sleep or A doctor answers you !

Read also :

> Sleep apnea
> The sleep cycles
> Understanding and treating sleep disorders

Erotomania: the causes Previous Article

Erotomania: the causes

Breast cancer Previous Article

Breast cancer

Popular Posts

Narkolepsie: die Ursachen

Die Ursachen von Narkolepsie sind noch wenig verstanden.

Narkolepsie ist auf die Zerstörung einiger sehr spezifischer Neuronen an der Basis des Gehirns zurückzuführen. Die Neuronen, die den Neurotransmitter Hypocretin bilden, werden teilweise oder vollständig zerstört. Die Krankheit betrifft nur diese Neuronen, andere Teile des Körpers sind davon nicht betroffen. Hypocretin spielt eine sehr wichtige Rolle bei der Aufrechterhaltung des Wachzustands und der Strukturierung des Schlafes.

Die Ursache für die Zerstörung dieser Neuronen ist noch nicht bekannt. Es ist wahrscheinlich, dass dies ein Autoimmunmechanismus ist, das heißt eine unangemessene Reaktion des Immunsystems des Subjekts, das irrtümlich Elemente seines eigenen Körpers angreifen wird.

In der Tat wurde die Mutation eines Gens, das am Immunsystem beteiligt ist, bei Menschen gefunden, die an Narkolepsie leiden. Darüber hinaus nimmt eine wissenschaftliche Studie an, dass der Rückgang von Hypocretin produzierenden Neuronen durch den Anstieg von Hormon produzierenden Hormonzellen (Schlüsselmolekül des Immunsystems) verursacht werden würde.

Zur Diagnose von Narkolepsie kann Hypocretin in der Zerebrospinalflüssigkeit (der Flüssigkeit, die das zentrale Nervensystem umgibt) gefunden werden. Der Arzt kann eine Lumbalpunktion durchführen, um diese Substanz zu testen. Der Facharzt für diese Art von Störung ist ein Neurologe, genauer gesagt ein Schlafspezialist.

Leiden Sie unter Schlafstörungen?

Fühlst du schlechten Schlaf und beginnst dir Sorgen zu machen? Beantworten Sie ein paar Fragen, um auf den Grund zu kommen. Mach den Test!

Möchten Sie reagieren, Ihre Erfahrungen teilen oder eine Frage stellen? Termin in unseren FOREN Ermüdung und Schlaf oder Ein Arzt antwortet Ihnen !

Um auch zu lesen:

> Schlafapnoe
> Die Schlafzyklen
> Schlafstörungen verstehen und behandeln

Fibromyalgie Vorherige Artikel

Fibromyalgie

Bronchitis: die Symptome Vorherige Artikel

Bronchitis: die Symptome

Beliebte Beiträge